South Louisiana based book enthusiast who enjoys all things bookish and delicious. 

December Salt Water Reads Pick:  Little Broken Things Review

December Salt Water Reads Pick: Little Broken Things Review

Synopsis:

An engrossing and suspenseful novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Amy Hatvany about an affluent suburban family whose carefully constructed facade starts to come apart with the unexpected arrival of an endangered young girl.

I have something for you. When Quinn Cruz receives that cryptic text message from her older sister Nora, she doesn’t think much of it. They haven’t seen each other in nearly a year and thanks to Nora’s fierce aloofness, their relationship consists mostly of infrequent phone calls and an occasional email or text. But when a haunted Nora shows up at the lake near Quinn's house just hours later, a chain reaction is set into motion that will change both of their lives forever.

Nora’s “something” is more shocking than Quinn could have ever imagined: a little girl, cowering, wide-eyed, and tight-lipped. Nora hands her over to Quinn with instructions to keep her safe, and not to utter a word about the child to anyone, especially not their buttoned-up mother who seems determined to pretend everything is perfect. But before Quinn can ask even one of the million questions swirling around her head, Nora disappears, and Quinn finds herself the unlikely caretaker of a girl introduced simply as Lucy.

While Quinn struggles to honor her sister’s desperate request and care for the lost, scared Lucy, she fears that Nora may have gotten involved in something way over her head—something that will threaten them all. But Quinn’s worries are nothing compared to the firestorm that Nora is facing. It’s a matter of life and death, of family and freedom, and ultimately, about the lengths a woman will go to protect the ones she loves.

 

 

Thoughts:

"The Sanford girls were fierce and determined, tenacious and brave.  The sort of women who refused to give up.  Who knew that all the loveliest things were broken.  And in all the broken places they were strong."  I absolutely loved this book.  I was sucked in to the story immediately and read it in one sitting.  Even though it was more of a slow burn and I figured out the twist early on, that did not take away from the reading experience for me.  I thought Nicole Baart wrote it so beautifully and built up so much tension and unease all through out the book that I constantly felt on edge. I wasn't a big fan of Nora in the beginning and I gravitated more towards Quinn's character.  I also didn't care much for Elizabeth but ended up softening up to her by the end of the book. 

 I loved the way the book examined motherhood and family secrets.... and I also loved when Elizabeth Undone was revealed at the end.... ALL. THE. FEELS.   The author's note at the end made me tear up over her honesty and I also appreciated the way in which she wrote the assault scene.... it was done with great care and there was no graphic imagery.  This book secures a spot on my top 2017 reads because I thought it was an excellent portrayal of how difficult motherhood is, how much sacrifice can be involved and how complicated relationships among family members can be.  5 stars.  

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Bookstagram Birthday Feature!!!  Interviews with the lovely ladies behind some of my favorite accounts

Bookstagram Birthday Feature!!! Interviews with the lovely ladies behind some of my favorite accounts