South Louisiana based book enthusiast who enjoys all things bookish and delicious. 

On My Radar for the Upcoming Week

On My Radar for the Upcoming Week

Here are the books that I am really excited to read over the course of the next week.

House of Impossible Beauties by Joseph Cassara - out now - "Told in a voice that brims with wit, rage, tenderness, and fierce yearning, The House of Impossible Beauties is a tragic story of love, family, and the dynamism of the human spirit." 

Educated by Tara Westover - out Feb 20 -  "An unforgettable memoir in the tradition of The Glass Castle about a young girl who, kept out of school, leaves her survivalist family and goes on to earn a PhD from Cambridge University."

Only Child by Rhiannon Navin - out now- I read this just the other day and I loved it, even though it broke my heart.  This was an intense and powerful examination of how a family copes with loss and grief after a school shooting told from the perspective of a 6 year old boy.  This book was also selected as a People Magazine Book Pick of the week.

I am I am I am by Maggie O'Farrell - out Feb 13-  "I Am I Am I Am is a gripping and glorious investigation of death that leaves the reader feeling breathless, grateful, and fully alive."  Ann  Patchett

Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers by Sara Ackerman - out Feb. 13 -  "When her husband mysteriously disappears and rumors swirl about his loyalties, a mother must rely on the remarkable power of friendship in war-torn Hawaii."  Currently reading this and really enjoying it. 

The Queen of Hearts by Kimmery Martin -  out feb 13-  "A debut novel that pulses with humor and empathy and explores the heart's capacity for forgiveness...perfect for fans of Grey's Anatomy."  And this cover!!  It is absolutely stunning!

This Will Be My Undoing  by Morgan Jerkins - out now - "From one of the fiercest critics writing today, Morgan Jerkins’ highly-anticipated collection of linked essays interweaves her incisive commentary on pop culture, feminism, black history, misogyny, and racism with her own experiences to confront the very real challenges of being a black woman today."

Freshwater by Akwaeke Emezi - out Feb. 13 - "An extraordinary debut novel, Freshwater explores the surreal experience of having a fractured self.  It centers around a young Nigerian woman, Ada, who develops separate selves within her as a result of being born "with one foot on the other side." Unsettling, heartwrenching, dark, and powerful, Freshwater is a sharp evocation of a rare way of experiencing the world, one that illuminates how we all construct our identities."

The Line Becomes a River - out now -  Francisco Cantú’s timely book explores violence on both sides of the U.S.-Mexican border from a personal perspective, making it necessary reading in 2018.

Text Me When You Get Home by Kayleen Schaefer

Text Me When You Get Home by Kayleen Schaefer

Body Full of Stars by Molly Caro May

Body Full of Stars by Molly Caro May