South Louisiana based book enthusiast who enjoys all things bookish and delicious. 

Summer Reads - The June Releases

Summer Reads - The June Releases

Well, Zelda and I sat down to make our summer reading list last weekend, but once I hit over 40 titles and found myself still in the first week of July, I decided I needed to modify my approach a bit so you aren’t scrolling through hundreds of summaries! It has been an INCREDIBLE reading year so far, and the summer releases sound like they definitely plan to give the Spring titles a run for their money. From snakes and bunnies, former editors, pirates and show girls, to hallowed ground in Charleston and the shores of Jamaica, these are the books releasing in June that I am dying to read. (And if you see something that you want to add to your TBR, just click on the book cover and it will take you right to that book’s Good Read page)!

The Summer of Sylvie Lee - releasing June 4th. “A deeply moving story of family, secrets, identity, and longing, this is both a gripping page-turner and a sensitive portrait of an immigrant family. It is a profound exploration of the many ways culture and language can divide us and the impossibility of ever truly knowing someone—especially those we love. “ (Good Reads) DOESN’T THIS SOUND FANTASTIC??? From the New York Times to almost every single magazine list out there, this book is EVERY WHERE and I can not wait to read it.

On Earth We’re Briefly Gorgeous - releasing June 4th. Ocean Vuong. The end.

This book centers around a “young man who writes a letter to his illiterate mother in an attempt to make sense of his traumatic beginnings.” (Good Reads) I am always moved by stories that examine the relationship dynamic between sons and their mothers, so I am counting down the days until this release.

City of Girls - releasing June 4th. All I needed to know was that Elizabeth Gilbert wrote a new book Then I came across this quote from the main character: “At some point in a woman's life, she just gets tired of being ashamed all the time. After that, she is free to become whoever she truly is” and that sealed the deal for me. I can’t wait to step back in time, take a seat in the Lily Playhouse theater and lose myself in the glitz, grit and glamour of New York in the ‘40s.

Grace Will Lead Us Home - releasing June 4th. I can remember watching the news coverage of the Charleston Church Massacre and being completely horrified at the senseless tragedy that occurred within those walls. Pulitzer Prize winning journalist, Jennifer Berry Hawes, has written this moving work documenting the event, the trial and then the aftermath as a shattered community attempted to recover and carry on. I know this book will be difficult to get through due to the subject matter and the tragic loss of life, but I think it will be a very important work and a must read.

The Friends We Keep - releasing June 4th. “Love, grief, and forgiveness illuminate this compelling summer read” (Kirkus reivews) and this cover makes me want to grab my beach bag, a margarita and plop down in the sand and lose myself in the lives of Evvie, Maggie and Topher.

Patsy - releasing June 4th. “A profound book about sexuality, gender, race, and immigration that speaks to the contemporary moment through the figure of a woman alive with passion and regret.” (Kirkus) Time Magazine recently featured it and said that “Patsy fills a literary void with compassion, complexity and tenderness.” This book is also the July selection for the Lit On H St. Book Club and I am very excited to read along with them.

The Last Pirate of New York: A Ghost Ship , a Killer, and the Birth of a Gangster Nation - releasing June 4th. “Though not a traditional gangster book, this is a rollicking, page-turning tale that is “too great and grisly to be anything but true.” (Kirkus) Perfect for fans of Gangs of New York, this is the story of “the bloodthirsty, underworld legend who conquered Manhattan, port by port, and terrorized the Five Points”. (Good Reads)

In West Mills - releasing June 4th. “For readers of The Twelve Tribes of Hattie and The Turner House, an intimately told story about a woman living by her own rules and the rural community that struggles to understand her.” This debut is “a magnificent, big-hearted small-town story about family, friendship, storytelling, and the redemptive power of love.” (Good Reads) This novel has already received starred reviews from Publishers Weekly and Kirkus. I am always drawn to female characters who are determined to pave their own path , no matter what society has to say.

The Bobcat - releasing June 5th. “With the hypnotic intensity of Emily Fridlund’s The History of Wolves and Fiona McFarlane’s The Night Guest, Riley has created a mesmerizing love story, in lush, gorgeous prose, that examines art, science, and the magic of human chemistry.” (Good Reads) Though this story is fairly short, the reviews that I have come across all say this one packs a mighty punch.

The Knife - releasing June 6th. HARRY HOLE IS BACK!!! Ahhhh Jo Nesbo, how I love your work. If dark, twisted, nordic noir is in your wheelhouse you need to read this series IMMEDIATELY. Picking up where The Thirst left off, Harry finds himself facing his personal demons and a deadly foe and I AM HERE FOR IT.

Call Your Daughter Home - releasing June 11th. I love Southern fiction and plots about strong women, and Call Your Daughter Home sounds like it has both of those things in spades. This story follows “three fierce, unforgettable Southern women in the years leading up to the Great Depression and is an audacious, timeless story about the power of family, deep-buried secrets and the ferocity of motherhood.” (Google Books)

This Is Home - releasing June 11th. Lisa Duffy is an auto buy author for me, so I got very excited when I saw she had a new release coming out. Described as having “gorgeous prose and a cast of characters that feel wholly real and lovably flawed, This Is Home is a nuanced and moving novel of finding where we belong. “ (Good Reads) This book is also the June pick for the Salt Water Reads Book Club and I can’t wait to read along with them!

Bunny - releasing June 11th. This book is being hailed as a cross between The Vegetarain and Heathers, so obviously I need it immediately. It is described in it’s starred review from Kikus as “a viciously funny bloodbath eviscerating the rarefied world of elite creative writing programs.” And bonus - Zelda is a huge fan of the cover!

More Than Enough - releasing June 11th. Elaine Welteroth IS A FORCE. She has “ climbed the ranks of media and fashion, shattering ceilings along the way. In this riveting memoir, the groundbreaking editor unpacks lessons on race, identity, and success through her own journey, from navigating her way as the unstoppable child of a unlikely interracial marriage in small-town California to finding herself on the frontlines of a modern movement for the next generation of change makers.” Google Books.

A Philosophy of Ruin - releasing June 18th. “A young philosophy professor finds himself in the middle of a drug-running operation after his personal life derails”. (Good Reads)  When I read this book was being described as a “white knuckle debut for fans of Breaking Bad”, I was all in.

The Most Fun We Ever Had - releasing June 18th. “When Marilyn and David fall in love in the 1970s, they are blithely ignorant of all that's to come. By 2016, their four radically different daughters are matching wits, harboring grudges and recklessly igniting old rivalries. When a teenage boy, given up for adoption fifteen years before, reappears, long-buried secrets threaten to shatter the lives they've built and reveal the rich and varied tapestry of the Sorenson's past. “ (Google Books)

Fake Like Me - releasing June 18th. With starred reviews from both Kirkus and Publishers Weekly, this buzzy book is described as “a twisted psychological portrait of a woman crumbling under unimaginable pressure and a razor-sharp satire of the contemporary art scene. It is a dark, glamorous, and addictive story of good intentions gone awry.” (Good Reads) SOLD.

The Snakes - releasing June 25th. First off, this cover. I am OBSESSED. “Snakes as temptation, snakes as untrustworthy people, snakes as dangerous reptiles—all present and accounted for in this suspenseful drama of an ultrarich, dysfunctional British family that is a character-driven cross between domestic drama and a crime thriller.” (Kirkus Reviews).

How Could She - releasing June 25th. I have been a dedicated fan of Vogue for more than 20 years, so when I found out that their book columnist had a new release I COULD NOT WAIT to get my hands on it.

“Hilarious and fiercely observed, this is a novel of female friendship, as well as an insider’s look in to the cutthroat world of New York media - from print to podcasting.” (book jacket) Praised as “profound, radiantly alive, and insightful” by R.O. Kwon and described by Emma Straub as “a sophisticated novel that dives right in to the stickiest parts of women’s inner lives, their friendships with each other “ - this debut sits right at the top of my summer reading list, and I will be starting my ARC this weekend.

The Gone Dead- releasing June 25th. “Billie comes from literary royalty, but you wouldn’t know it from the humble shack in the Mississippi Delta that she's just inherited from her grandmother. She spent time there during her early years, and it's where her father, Clifton, a gifted though underappreciated African-American poet, died under mysterious circumstances when his daughter was 4. Now in her 30s, and feeling the weight of not quite living up to her father’s standard, Billie returns to the Greendale, Mississippi, of her childhood and begins to seek answers to the questions surrounding her father’s death.” (Kirkus)

Inventive, gritty, and openhearted, The Gone Dead is an astonishing debut novel about race, justice, and memory that lays bare the long-concealed wounds of a family and a country.” (Google Books)

And there you have it! June is going to be an AMAZING month for new releases and I hope you were able to add some new titles to your TBR!

This Is Home by Lisa Duffy, The June Book Club Pick for Salt Water Reads

This Is Home by Lisa Duffy, The June Book Club Pick for Salt Water Reads

From Scratch by Tembi Locke

From Scratch by Tembi Locke